Grain-Free Matzo

For years my friends, family, and readers have been asking me to create a grain-free matzo recipe. This year, instead of throwing my paleo matzo together the day of our Seder, I took time during the last few weeks to work on creating a gluten-free matzo recipe.

As you can imagine, my house has become a veritable paleo matzo factory with batch after batch of matzo spread out all over my kitchen counters.

Matzo is an interesting food. Most Jews, including myself will tell you that we don’t really like the taste of matzo. It’s dry and starchy, and for the most part completely lacking in flavor. On the other hand, matzo is an incredible vehicle for a fabulous part of the Seder, the Hillel Sandwich, which is matzo with charoset and maror (horseradish).

Grain-Free Matzo

Print Pin Recipe
Servings 2

Ingredients

Instructions

  • In a food processor combine almond flour, coconut flour, and salt
  • Pulse in egg, olive oil, and water
  • Divide dough into 2 pieces
  • Roll out dough between 2 pieces of parchment paper to 1/16-inch thickness
  • Remove top piece of parchment paper
  • Transfer matzo to a baking sheet
  • Prick holes in matzo using a fork
  • Bake at 350°F for 10-13 minutes, watching very closely
  • Cool for 2 hours
  • Serve
Prep Time 10 mins
Cook Time 10 mins
Total Time 20 mins
Tried this recipe?Mention @elanaspantry or tag #elanaspantry!

Thankfully, my matzo is fairly tasty. Unfortunately, since it has good taste, texture and flavor, my paleo matzo does not taste exactly like the real thing –i.e., grain-based matzo. Because of this I recommend that you do what our family does each Passover –buy gluten-free matzo for those on a gluten-free diet, and make this grain-free matzo for folks that are strictly grain-free (like myself) or following a Paleo diet.

What is matzo? Referred to as matzoh, matza, or matzah, and known as “the bread of affliction,” matzo is unleavened bread typically made of wheat flour and water. It is traditionally eaten by Jews during the Passover holiday when eating chametz (wheat products that are leavened) is not permitted.

I’m often asked, is matzo gluten-free? Well, the answer is no. Real matzo is made of wheat, something I have not eaten since 1998, when I was diagnosed with celiac disease. Real matzo would make me very sick if I consumed it. I’m also frequently asked what I use in place of matzo meal during Pesach. That is easy to answer –almond flour is my matzo meal and because of this all of my recipes are kosher for Passover.

If you’re looking for a Paleo Passover menu, you’re in luck. If you need healthy Paleo Passover recipe ideas for topping this homemade matzo, try the ones below!


Buy My Books!

paleo cooking from elana's pantryGluten-Free Almond Flour Cookbook


Comments

101 responses to “Grain-Free Matzo”

  1. This was wonderful! I wanted SOFT matzo, so i made the dough into a 10X10″ square, then baked it for 11 minutes! My Daughter-in-love took the remainder home for her grain-free sandwiches! thank you for a GREAT recipe!

  2. Appreciate this recipe. Question: How far in advance can these crackers be made? How best to store them?

  3. Just an important note: matzah does not have to be made from wheat! It can be made from any of the biblically recognized five grains: wheat, barley, rye, oats, and spelt. It is possible to purchase gluten-free oat matzah, which is every bit as much “real matzah” as the much more common wheat kind.

  4. Matzo is great with peanut butter and jelly or honey. This is a must-try for me. Thank you for all your grain-free recipes. I haven’t felt this good in forever.

  5. Hi!

    This is exactly what I’ve been looking for, for a really long time… It’s really difficult, growing up in a half Jewish family, and not be able to eat ANYTHING! My father and his family were all Jewish, and while my mother didn’t officially convert, she DID teach us about our Jewish Heritage. My father was only orthodox when it suited him, or when we were with my grandparents. He really didn’t teach my brother or me anything about our Jewish Heritage. My mother learned from HIS mother, and from my Dear Aunt & Uncle, Esther & Leon, who have all passed on. I have always been fascinated with the Seder and Passover, Rosh Hashana, Yom Kippur, and Hanukkah. I have not only been fascinated with this part of my heritage, but also reverent.

    But, as I was saying, it’s really difficult not being able to eat anything! I have so many food allergies, and Celiac Disease, that it makes it virtually impossible to take part in the Seder… I think all I can eat is the parsley & saltwater, the egg, and the maror. The charoset is loaded with walnuts, which I am also allergic to, and I just can’t seem to “win” when I try to take part in a Seder. I can remember the Seders from when I was very young, and I remember being able to eat everything, but the charoset always made my throat close. We found out later, that I am allergic to tree nuts… I’m also allergic to coconut, so I still have a problem with a lot of the recipes you create, but I usually find a way to adapt… But this one sort of baffles me… Do you think that I could use ground flaxseed instead of the almond and coconut flours, in this case? I guess I could try it out and see, but I wondered your opinion on that change. Or, perhaps I could use rice flour and ground flaxseed? And what about the charoset? Do you have any suggestions on how to make it, so that I can make it safe for me to eat? I can still eat peanuts(amazingly), cashews, and pistachios, if I work very hard at removing ALL of the brown papery film that lies between the actual but and the shell… Charoset is supposed to be bitter though, and I don’t know how I could possibly make it that way, with any of the “nuts” I CAN eat… And thoughts or suggestions there? I really haven’t been able to take part in a Seder in a very long time, so maybe I should just not bother, but it IS part of my family heritage, and I don’t want to just “forget about it.”

    Thank you for any suggestions you might be able to make. I love reading your blog, and adapting your recipes so that I CAN eat them. :)

    Blessings!

    • Charoset is sweet (though it reminds us of bitter memories), marror is bitter. You can make charoset by taking fruit and nuts that you are not allergic to and chopping them up finely and adding grape juice/wine.
      Traditional fruits in charoset are dates or apples, but I use pear for an allergic friend. Walnut is traditional but you can use whatever nuts you want, or leave them out entirely.

      • Thanks Eliana! You’re right… It’s the maror that is bitter… I was thinking of the walnuts MAKING it bitter, I think. I may have to use some apple AND pear and the dates… Plus we put finely chopped celery in ours… Family recipe… It was walnuts, celery, apples, dates, and my mom always used a blackberry wine… Maybe I’ll work hard at the pistachios, and use those, since I think cashews would make it too sweet. Thank you for the tips! :)

      • Thank you Michele! I will have to try that. I love Bob’s Red Mill products, and I always have GF Oat Flour on hand, because I don’t like the consistency of regular baked oatmeal, so I grind my oats into a fine flour and it turns out more like cake, instead of oatmeal… But hey, Blueberry Muffin Cake, looks AND tastes better, somehow, than Blueberry Baked Oatmeal.

        Anyway, I will have to try that, so that I can make some Matzoh of my own. I don’t think it’ll be this year, unless I can commandeer some space in my Mother’s kitchen, as I’m not living with her anymore, but don’t have a GF kitchen of my own at the moment. I can MAKE my Mom’s kitchen GF, if I need to, but this kitchen is shared by several people, none of which have the same dietary restrictions as I do. As for the Charoset, I’m going to work hard at the pistachios, so that it makes me feel like I’ve really done something worthwhile, to make my Charoset special. Like I’ve taken the time to make it my own, if you understand what I mean… Anyone can chop up nuts and turn them into something else, but I really have to work hard to make them edible for myself. I want to work hard at making this batch of Charoset. Is that prideful? I don’t mean for it to be. I just want to put the work into it… I’m hoping it turns out ok. Thank you for the link for the other Matzoh recipe… I hope I can get it made in the traditional 18 minutes, but if not, I’m sure that God will forgive me…

  6. I’m looking for a gluten-free and vegan matzo, but I think this is a great starting point for me! I’m going to try to omit the egg and increase the water and see if it turns out. Thanks for another great recipe!

  7. Thanks for all your hard work in developing recipes! I am starting to collect a repertoire of Paleo Recipes and was excited to see a matzoh recipe. I also will be trying all your Passover recipes. Was wondering if you have used your Matzohs to make Matzoh Brie successfully. I know it works with some gluten free crackers and flatbread. I found I didn’t need to quickly run my Matzohs under warm water as I have traditionally done, because the egg mixture alone softens the cracker pieces.

  8. Thanks, Elana! The gluten-free matzo I bought at a store upset my stomach so I’m looking forward to making your recipe. Have a wonderful Passover!

Have Something to Add?

Recipe Rating




Your comment will need to be approved before it will appear on the site.

Recipes » Snacks » Grain-Free Matzo